Barn Door Beergarden

Hi, guys!

I’m back with a review on a new restaurant in Accra.

Barn Door Beergarden is a restaurant in Nyaniba, centred on serving local craft beer & the kind of food that goes along with it. It’s a casual space, with wooden seating, concrete floors & plants everywhere.

I didn’t take photos of the inside, but it plays very much into the concept of a barn & personally, I enjoy these kinds of architectural conversions.

The outdoor space is nice & breezy & there are umbrellas to cover you from the sun.

They have quite a casual menu which I think is a cross between “heavy” & “finger” foods, like pizza & tacos which goes with the general vibe of the space.

To drink, I got a Hibiscus Beer from Tale [on tap] & I really enjoyed that. It was a little sweet from hints of the hibiscus, but not in an overpowering way. I’ve never had a fruity/floral/herbal beer, but this was really refreshing.

My date on the other hand was in quite the ‘brunch’ mood, so with a lot of enquiries & accomodations, the bartender & waitstaff brought us some Prosecco & a pitcher of juice so we could have mimosas. This wasn’t a menu option, so I thought it was really sweet & fantastic customer service to indulge us the way they did.

To eat, we got a seafood platter, some hotdogs & some grilled chicken. The seafood platter was fantastic. The prawns were big & seasoned nicely, there was this fish [I don’t know what kind] that was so juicy & flaky. So good. The calamari wasn’t bad, it could’ve been a bit crispier, but it was tasty. The fries had a Cajun seasoning which was also good [you can’t really screw up fries], but the zucchini was a little boring for me. The pumpkin mash made a good “dipping sauce” for the platter also. I really enjoyed it.

I got a California hot dog, which I think would’ve been better with a different kind of sausage. There’s avocado on the hotdog with tomatoes & mayo & cheese so I think a more seasoned sausage with a bit of a bite to it, would’ve complimented the flavours & the textures better.

I have a personal bias towards grilled chicken in general so I’m very rarely impressed by it, but as far as cooking goes, the chicken was done well. It was soft & seasoned.

Now, the price range.

Food ranges from GHS 15 – GHS 320, drinks range from GHS 25 – GHS 2200.

The waitstaff was friendly & attentive. Barn Door Beergarden is open Monday to Sunday from 12pm to 11pm till Saturday, & till 10pm on Sundays.

Go check it out & let me know what you think.

Thanks for reading.

– M.

Leave a comment