Accra Food Festival!

Over the weekend, Accra Premium presented us with a Food Festival where major, major eateries represented, from all over Ghana. Right from Mole to Osu, restauranteurs and bakers all came through to show us what they got. Food, alcohol, cakes, candy and everything in between was right at our fingertips and the people showed up in their numbers.

It started at 11am and ended at 6pm, although, who are we kidding? No one was about to leave at 6pm with all that food and alcohol present. It was a perfect setting, spreading right from the entrance of the Polo Grounds, right down to the end. To your left and right were all the eateries I had heard of and seen, as well as some I’d never come across. The setting was beautiful with canopies, chairs and tables on the lawn, so you could rest your feet if you got tired of checking out food.

The individual stands were spaced out well enough so you didn’t feel closed in by other patrons of other stands. There was a nice flow of human traffic, no one was in anyone’s way. It really was perfect.

While walking up and down, I did spot some stands I found interesting, and I won’t even lie, I was having too much fun to take enough photos and videos [I feel bad about that]. There was a palm wine stand called ‘Vin de Dézé’ that sold palm wine in these bottle-green bottles, much like a European red or white, and I was very impressed with the bottling and labelling. It even had a cork in it, to keep in fresh.

Screen Shot 2016-09-21 at 18.03.55.png

photo cred: https://www.instagram.com/p/BKjDawKB_17/?taken-by=accrafoodfestival

I’m not a palm wine drinker personally, but I’d have bought it solely off presentation. I was very impressed.

Next, I stopped at the Drum Major stand to get myself a drink. Lately, I’ve been OBSESSED with ginger, so when I saw ‘Ginger Drum’ on the menu, it was my very first choice and…it was amazing. I don’t think I’ve ever had whiskey because, ick, but this cocktail was great. The drinks were made right in front of us and the bartenders were VERY generous with the cup sizes and the drink quantity, and at a smooth GHC 10, I heard no complaints. It tasted really good too, and customer service was great.

img_7832

Last but not least, I chanced upon a chocolate bar stand. The first thing that drew me in was the arrangement of the chocolates on the stand, and then the packaging. Once I found out it was made in Ghana, I was absolutely sold. Inasmuch as I love Golden Tree, I’ve been looking for Made In Ghana chocolates and I was incredibly happy to have found some! I met the owner and had a nice chat with her about her chocolates and promised I wouldn’t write anything bad about her chocolates unless I had to…

Thank God I don’t have to because the chocolate is amazing! It’s beautiful, inside and out and it tastes amazing! I got a Coffee and Toffee Milk Chocolate bar, and a Toffee and Himalayan SeaSalt Milk Chocolate bar and I have to say, I was thoroughly impressed. The flavors complement each other so well. With each bar being GHC 20, i have to say that…I have nothing to say. It’s perfect. I was very happy.

IMG_7831.JPG

img_7839

The organisers of the Food Festival were Chrissi and her mother Melissa, and they were such graceful and welcoming hosts. They were walking through the crowd, talking to everyone, from the adults and even bending over to talk to the little babies. It was so beautiful to see that they were keen on making sure everyone was enjoying themselves, but it was especially great to see that they were still grateful that we all came through.

It was nice and sunny and that totally fit the ambiance. It really was a great 2-day festival and I honestly can’t wait till the next one. More eating and drinking, just for you guys. But if you couldn’t make it this year, you should definitely come through next year. It’ll be fun! Thanks for reading!

– M.

One thought on “Accra Food Festival!

Leave a comment